1 min read

GUWAHATI: United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL) president Pramod Boro has won the Kaklbari seat in the Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC) election. Boro is the former president of the All Bodo Students’ Union (ABSU). After leaving the students’ body, he had joined the UPPL and led the party in the BTC election.

On the other hand, Saikhong Basumatary alias B. Saoraigwra, a former militant of now disbanded National Democratic Front of Bodoland (NDFB) who had contested the elections on a Bodoland People’s Front (BPF) ticket won from Chirang constituency. The other BPF candidates who have emerged victorious are—Moon Moon Brahma (Parbotjhora), Prabhat Basumatary (Subhaijar), James Basumatary (Nuchima), Saikhong Basumatary (Chirang), Paniram Brahma (Kajalgaon) and Dhananjay Basumatary (Manas Serfang).

United Peoples’ Party Liberal(UPPL) candidate B R Ferenga defeated Bodoland Peoples’ Front(BPF) second-in-command Kampa Borgoyari, in Chirangduar constituency in the Bodoland Territorial Council(BTC) election.

Ranjit Basumatary alias BR Ferenga, one of the leaders of the National Democratic Front of Bodoland(NDFB) surrendered earlier this year along with other rebels.

According to the latest reports,   Abhirama Mahanayak of BJP claimed victory in Thuribari constituency of Chirang district.

You May Also Like

More From Author