Four Northeast leaders take oath as ministers

2 min read

Tripura West MP Pratima Bhoumik and Inner Manipur MP Rajkumar Ranjan Singh were among the four leaders from the Northeast who took oath as ministers in the Prime Minister Narendra Modi cabinet. Kiren Rijiju, who hails from Arunachal Pradesh, and Former Assam CM Sarbananda Sonowal are the other ministers who took oath from the region.

Bhoumik is a Lok Sabha member for Tripura West, serving her first term as MP.

Rajkumar Ranjan Singh, member of the 17th Lok Sabha took oath as Minister of State. He is a member of the Bharatiya Janata Party.

Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma congratulated newly inducted Union minister Sarbananda Sonowal and said he will “continue to learn, and draw strength from him”.

“I am proud at Sri @sarbanandsonwal getting a berth in the Union Cabinet. I recall with pride my long personal association with Sri Sonowal and great opportunities that we had to work together, for prosperity of Assam. I shall continue to learn, and draw strength from him,” Sarma tweeted.

Meanwhile, Arunachal CM Pema Khandu lauded the elevation of Kiren Rijiju to a Cabinet rank.

“Your elevation to the post of a Union Cabinet Minister brings great joy and pride. My best wishes and hearty congratulations Shri @KirenRijiju Ji on being sworn in today. We eagerly look forward to your tremendous zeal, passion and energy in bringing change,” he tweeted.

You May Also Like

More From Author