Adityanath leading from Gorakhpur seat by 15,000 votes

2 min read

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath was heading for a landslide victory and leading by around 15,000 votes from Gorakhpur Urban seat on Thursday.

According to updated Election Commission figures, Adityanath has secured 21,221 votes while his nearest rival Samajwadi Party’s Subhawati Shukla had got 6,628 votes.

BSP’s Khwaja Shamsuddin has secured 1,477 votes while Chandra Shekhar of Azad Samaj Party has bagged 1,386 votes.

Chetna Pandey of the Congress was struggling with 272 votes while AAP’s Vijay Kumar Shrivastava had secured 93 votes, according to the updated figures.

A total of 191 NOTA votes was polled so far in the key constituency.

Adityanath, contesting his first assembly election, did not seem to be getting much fight from rivals on the Gorakhpur seat.

While Adityanath was watching the poll outcome from his official residence in Lucknow, his supporters at the Gorakhpur Math and also at the party office had already started celebrating his and the BJP’s victory in the state.

A large number of party workers had already gathered at BJP’s party office at Beniganj in Gorakhpur. They wrre raising slogans like “Modi-Yogi zindabad” and “Jai Shri Ram”. Some of them also burst crackers and took out a small march.

A lot of people had also gathered at the Hindu Sevashram in Gorakhnath temple. They have been watching the election results on big TV screen.

Meanwhile, only a handful of people were present at the Samajwadi Party’s office here.

You May Also Like

More From Author