Assam | Assembly by-election Tomorrow

People stand in line to cast their votes during the first phase of Assam state Assembly election at a polling station at Amguri, in Sibsager Deistic the northeastern state of Assam, Monday, April 3, 2016. PHOTO- REBA KUMAR BORAH.

Four assembly constituencies in Assam will go to poll on Monday and the campaigning for which ended on Saturday
The counting of votes will take place on Thursday and the fate of 20 contestants in Rangapara, Sonari, Ratabari, and Jania
will be known after the counting.
The by polls to these constituencies were necessitated after sitting BJP MLAs Pallab Lochan Das (Rangapara); Topon Gogoi
(Sonari) and Kripanath Mallah (Ratabari) along with Congress MLA Abdul Khaleque (Jania) were elected to the Lok Sabha.

In Rangapara, there are five candidates in the fray: Rajen Bortakur (BJP), Kartik Kurmi (Congress), Royal Soreng (CPI-M),
Sanjit Rajbangshi (SUCI-C) and Arup Kumar Chowdhury (Bharatiya Gana Parishad),
BJP’s Nabanita Handique and Sushil Kumar Suri of Congress are the contestants in Sonari.
In Ratabari, there are four candidates in the fray: Bijoy Malakar (BJP), Keshab Prasad Rajak (Congress), Birendra Ravidas
(SUCI-C) and Parikhit Roy (Independent).
In Jania, there are the highest numbers of nine candidates in the fray. However, the contest is likely to be triangular
among Towfiqur Rahman (BJP), Shamsul Hoque (INC) and Rafiqul Islam (AILIDF).

error: Content is protected !!
%d bloggers like this: