Lok Sabha Elections: 3 nominations rejected after scrutiny in four constituencies – Guwahati, Dhubri, Barpeta and Kokrajhar

Altogether 59 candidates remain in the fray in the four Lok Sabha constituencies of the State that will go to the polls in the third phase on April 23.
Scrutiny of nomination papers of candidates for the four constituencies – Guwahati, Dhubri, Barpeta and Kokrajhar – was conducted today.
Nominations of three candidates were rejected after scrutiny, while 59 nominations were found valid.

A total of 62 candidates had filed nominations for the four seats.

All the nominations filed for Guwahati, Dhubri and Barpeta constituencies were found valid. However, three of the nominations filed for the Kokrajhar constituency were rejected after scrutiny.

The candidates whose nominations for the Kokrajhar seat were rejected are Mun Kumar Basumatary (Independent), Kamala Kanta Daimary (Trinamool Congress) and Paresh Boro (Independent).

After scrutiny of nominations today, 19 candidates remain in fray in Guwahati, 17 in Dhubri, 14 in Barpeta and nine in Kokrajhar.

The last date for withdrawal of nominations for the constituencies going to the polls in the third phase is April 8.

A total of 41 candidates are in fray in the five seats – Lakhimpur, Dibrugarh, Jorhat, Tezpur and Kaliabor – going to polls in the first phase on April 11, while a total of 50 contestants are in fray for the five constituencies – Mangaldoi, Nagaon, Diphu, Silchar and Karimganj – which will to go to polls in the second phase on April 18.

error: Content is protected !!
%d bloggers like this: