Delhi, Maharashtra Among 9 States With Bird Flu, Parliamentary Meet Today

Delhi and Maharashtra have confirmed bird flu amid nationwide efforts to contain the spread. Seven other states – Uttar Pradesh, Kerala, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh, Haryana and Gujarat – had earlier confirmed Avian Influenza as the cause of the recent bird deaths. Parliamentary Standing Committee on Agriculture has summoned senior officials of the Ministry of Animal Husbandry to examine the availability of animal vaccines in the country; the meeting will take place at 3 pm today. Haryana has reported the highest number of bird deaths; more than 4 lakh birds have died in the last few weeks. Jammu and Kashmir and Chhattisgarh are also on alert.

error: Content is protected !!
%d bloggers like this: