29.8 C
Friday, August 19, 2022

Featured News

Two arrested for cattle smuggling in Assam

Assam Police on Thursday arrested two persons...

Assam: 3 nabbed for rhino horn smuggling near Kaziranga

Forest officials in Assam caught three persons...

Guwahati LS seat has highest, Diphu lowest number of voters

English NewsGuwahati LS seat has highest, Diphu lowest number of voters

The Guwahati constituency has the highest number of electorates among all the 14 Lok Sabha seats in Assam, while the Diphu constituency has the lowest number of voters who are eligible to exercise their franchise in the forthcoming general elections.

As per official data, there are a total of 21,49,230 voters in the Guwahati Lok Sabha constituency, the highest in the State.
Dhubri constituency with 18,44,040 voters and Mangaldai with 17,75,182 voters are the seats having the second and third highest number of electorates in Assam.

Among other constituencies of the State, Nagaon has 17,74,467 voters, followed by 17,48,865 voters in Kokrajhar, 17,10,939 in Kaliabor, 16,81,434 in Lakhimpur, 16,65,689 in Barpeta, 14,82,368 in Tezpur, 13,43,872 in Jorhat, 13,13,469 in Karimganj, 12,97,671 in Dibrugarh, 11,89,667 in Silchar and 7,83,711 voters in Diphu.

The total number of general electors in the State stands at 2,17,60,604.

Of the total electorate in the State, 1,11,32,782 are males, while 1,06,27,319 are females and 503 are from the ‘third gender’.

The number of third gender voters is highest in Guwahati and Silchar constituencies. There are 78 voters belonging to the third gender in both the constituencies.

On the other hand, Jorhat and Diphu seats have least number of third gender voters. There are only seven general electors of the third gender, each from Jorhat and Diphu constituencies.

Among other seats, the number of third gender electorates stand at 53 in Lakhimpur, 51 in Nagaon, 45 each in Kaliabor and Kokrajhar constituencies, 30 in Tezpur, 29 in Mangaldai, 27 in Dhubri, 23 in Dibrugarh, 16 in Karimganj and 14 in Barpeta.

Male voters outnumber females in all the 14 parliamentary constituencies of Assam.

However, there are 11 Legislative assembly constituency (LAC) segments, spread across various Lok Sabha seats, where the number of female general electors is more than that of their male counterparts.

These are Tezpur LAC under Tezpur Lok Sabha constituency, Jorhat LAC under Jorhat Lok Sabha seat, Dibrugarh and Lahowal LACs under Dibrugarh Lok Sabha seat, Silchar LAC under Silchar Lok Sabha seat, Nagaon LAC under Nagaon Lok Sabha seat, Kokrajhar East and Sidli LACs under Kokrajhar parliamentary seat and Dudhnoi, Jalukbari and Guwahati East LACs under the Guwahati Lok Sabha constituency.

There will be a total of 28,143 polling stations across the State for the Lok Sabha polls.

Guwahati constituency will have the highest number of polling stations (2,592), followed by Dhubri (2,450) and Mangaldai (2,353).

Besides, the number of polling stations under Kokrajhar constituency will be 2,347, while it will be 2,283 in Nagaon, 2,188 in Barpeta, 2,174 in Kaliabor, 2,110 in Lakhimpur, 1,880 in Tezpur, 1,753 in Jorhat, 1,721 in Karimganj, 1,657 in Dibrugarh and 1,461 in Silchar. Diphu constituency will have the least number of polling stations (1,174) in the State.

Check out our other content

Check out other tags:

Most Popular Articles

error: Content is protected !!
%d bloggers like this: