29.8 C
Monday, March 27, 2023

Featured News

গোৰোহা ফটাৰ সমস্যা? জানি থওক উপশমৰ উপায়….

শীতকালত বহুতৰে ভৰিৰ গোৰোহা ফাটে৷ এই সমস্যা...

হাত-ভৰি জিনজিননি হোৱাটো হ’ব পাৰে গুৰুতৰ ৰোগৰ লক্ষণ

বহুতৰে প্ৰায়ে হাত আৰু ভৰিত জিনজিননি হৈ...

হিকতিৰ পৰা পৰিত্ৰাণ পোৱাৰ সহজ ঘৰুৱা উপায়

সাধাৰণতে পানী কমকৈ খোৱা বা মচলাযুক্ত খাদ্য...

Lalu Prasad Yadav’s RJD Sweeps Bihar Bypolls

English NewsLalu Prasad Yadav's RJD Sweeps Bihar Bypolls

The battle for five bypolls on Saturday was dominated by Bengal where the Trinamool Congress won big in the Asansol and Ballygunge seats. Actor-politician Shatrughan Sinha, the TMC’s candidate from Asansol, won the by-election by a huge margin, registering the party’s first-ever electoral victory in the constituency. In the Ballygunge Assembly segment, Trinamool’s Babul Supriyo, who switched from the BJP, emerged a winner.

While Bengal may have been decided, News18 takes a look at bypolls in other states and the situation of the candidates there:

The Lalu Prasad Yadav-led Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) has won Bihar’s Bochahan Assembly segment with a margin of over 36,000 votes. The Bochahan assembly seat, reserved for Scheduled Caste candidates, in Bihar’s Muzaffarpur district fell vacant after the death of MLA Musafir Paswan who had won on the ticket of Vikassheel Insaan Party (VIP) of Mukesh Sahani. Sahani initially wanted to field the former MLA’s son Amar Paswan, but the latter switched to RJD and has now won. Mukesh Sahani later fielded Gita Devi who finished a distant third. The BJP’s Baby Kumari, who had defeated heavyweight candidate Ramai Ram in 2015, finished second by a margin of over 36,000 votes.

Around 59.20 per cent of 2,90,544 voters had exercised their franchise in the by-election to the assembly segment on April 12.

Check out our other content

Check out other tags:

Most Popular Articles

error: Content is protected !!