22.5 C
Friday, May 27, 2022

Featured News

‘Padma Bhushan’ for former Chief Minister of Assam late Tarun Gogoi

English News'Padma Bhushan' for former Chief Minister of Assam late Tarun Gogoi

GUWAHATI: On the eve of the Republic Day on Monday, the Government of India announced the Padma Bhushan award to former Chief Minister of Assam, Tarun GogoiTarun Gogoi posthumously, and the ‘Padma Shri’ award to eight others of the State.

The eight personalities named for the ‘Padma Shri’ awards and their respective areas of excellence are: Lakhimi Baruah for social work; GopiramBargayanBurabhakat for art; BijayaChakraborty for public affairs; Mangal Singh Hazowary for literature and education; DulalManki for art; Birubala Rabha for social work; Roman Sarma for literature-journalism; and Imran Shah for literature and education.

The Awards will be given away by the President of India at a ceremonial function later.

Check out our other content

Check out other tags:

Most Popular Articles

error: Content is protected !!
%d bloggers like this: