December 6, 2021

Assam: members of Tiwa Autonomous Council Takes Oath in Morigaon

Morigaon: The newly elected members of the Tiwa Autonomous Council (TAC) took oath in Morigaon district of Assam on Wednesday.

Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) candidate Jibon Chandra Konwar sworn in as the new Chief Executive Member (CEM) of the council.

The oath-taking ceremony saw the presence of Assam Minister of State for Health and Family Welfare Pijush Hazarika, and other members and other dignitaries.

The BJP’s 33-seat victory in the TAC comes ahead of the state elections likely to be held in March.

The BJP claimed a landslide victory, winning 33 seats out of 36 seats.

Two seats were held by BJP ally Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) while the opposition Congress was decimated with a single seat in its kitty.

The TAC poll for 36 council constituencies in parts of Morigaon, Nagaon, Hojai and Kamrup (M) districts at as many as 410 polling stations on December 17, 2020. Counting of the vote was held on December 19, 2020.

According to the report, States BJP president Ranjit Dass said that it was an important victory. In the last TAC polls held in 2015, BJP had got only three seats. But this time the saffron party have swept it. The former TAC chief Paban Manta is now a BJP member who won from the Damal constituency and the CEM before Manta, Ramakanta Deuri, is now a BJP MLA.

The Tiwa council is a statutory body constituted under the State Act and comprises parts of Morigaon, Nagaon, Kamrup (M), AND Hojai districts.

(The Sentinel)

error: Content is protected !!
%d bloggers like this: