24.9 C
Thursday, December 1, 2022

Featured News

Assam Police arrest three persons in Nagaon, recover 7.65mm pistol, brown sugar

Assam Police arrested three persons and recovered...

নগাঁৱৰ জামুগুৰি দঘাট চুবুৰীৰ ২৪০ বছৰীয়া নামঘৰৰ প্ৰতিষ্ঠা দিৱস

নগাঁৱৰ জামুগুৰি দঘাট চুবুৰীৰ ২৪০ বছৰীয়া নামঘৰৰ প্ৰতিষ্ঠা দিৱস

15-year-old government vehicles will be scrapped: Nitin Gadkari

Union minister Nitin Gadkari today (November 25)...

Lotus Blooms Again In Karbi Anglong

AssamLotus Blooms Again In Karbi Anglong

The BJP is heading towards a clean sweep in Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council by winning at least 21 seats at the time of going to the press including Bithung Rengthama, which has been retained by CEM Tuliram Ronghang on Sunday.

Now, BJP is set to form an Opposition-less council in Karbi Anglong once again.

In remaining five constituencies out of total 26 seats, BJP candidates are leading with a comfortable margin spread across Karbi Anglong and West Karbi Anglong districts.

The Congress, the principal Opposition party of the state, is set to draw a blank in the elections.

In 2017, the BJP won 24 seats in its maiden poll foray into Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council and broke the previous record of the ASDC.

According to the latest reports, besides Tuliram Ronghang, Hamren seat went to Mongal Sing Timung.

Other winners are Prabhat Ch Taro, D Uphing Maslai, Abhijit Kro, Headsing Rongphar, Langbison Bey, Ajit Kr Dey, Kangbura Killing Bili Mohan Khaklary, Raju Tisso, Lunsing Teron, Ritesh Enghi, Kache Rongpipi, Amar Sing Tisso, Surya Rongphar, Kaadam Terangpi, Madhurjya Dhekial Phukan, Shraban Telenga, Pabitra Rongpi and Richard Tokbi.

Meanwhile, Johny Timung is leading from Lumbajong, Tilotama Hasnu from Dhansiri, Madhuram Lekthe from Langfer, Pawan Kumar from Kopili and Rina Terangpi from Amreng.

The massive victory of BJP in KAAC was celebrated in full zest by the party workers across both Karbi Anglong and West Karbi Anglong district.

The party workers burst crackers and celebrated after the poll results were declared on Sunday.

It may be mentioned here, during poll campaigns, the CEM had declared that his party would win all seats.

Around 78 per cent voting took place in the election of Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council in Assam on June 8 (Wednesday).

The election for KAAC was held for the first time after the signing of a peace agreement with five insurgent groups of Karbi Anglong district in September 2021, the third such accord inked with militants of the hill district with earlier ones being signed in 1995 and 2011. (With inputs from PTI)

Check out our other content

Check out other tags:

Most Popular Articles

error: Content is protected !!
%d bloggers like this: